you will be free…

i had a very light day yesterday – mostly recovering from everything ian gave me and scott to drink from the night before…after waking up late and forcing myself to go for a run, elsa, the young lady i’m renting my apartment from gave me a little tour of the neighborhood…this was extremely helpful because almost everything she showed me was literally under my nose – but i hadn’t noticed any of it on my own…now i know where to get top quality produce, booze and baked goods all within a five minute walk of my front door…this will no doubt make the next four and a half weeks much easier…

scott invited me out to a pub trivia night organized by the couchsurfing folks here, but i passed because i just wanted to make sure i went to bed at a reasonable hour…i also don’t think my stomach could have handled even being around another alcoholic beverage…we have tentative plans to check out versailles on thursday and i’m hoping to check out the free night at paris museum of photography on wednesday…

i managed to get a full night’s rest and woke up early this morning to go for a run and grab a quick breakfast…i came back home and finished writing a tune i’d been working on the last couple of days…then, i turned my attention to my stomach’s request for some south indian food…my good friend, neepa, lives in brussels and has spent a lot of time in paris…she turned me onto an area in the 10th that is home to a large number of sri lankan and south indian immigrants…i did a little digging and found that it was only a 10 minute walk from my apartment…after some research on the food situation down there, i settled on checking out khrisna bhavan

view from the street...

view from the street…

my first paris dosa...(won't be my last)...

my first paris dosa…(won’t be my last)…

khrisna bhavan, nailed it – the dosas was perfectly crisp…crispy enough on the edges but not completely flaky and soft on the inside…the softness is important to soak up all the delicious sambar and chutney…both of which were excellent here…

over the years i’ve become extremely picky about my dosas…this is obviously because my amma makes the best dosa, sambar and chutney on the planet (okay, she says my periamma’s (aunt’s) are better, but still)…that being said, the key to a good dosa is usually not the dosa itself but the sambar and chutney that come with it…usually restaurants handle the coconut chutney reasonably well – it’s relatively hard to mess up…but man oh man, is sambar usually a disaster…when done correctly it’s a beautiful thick, spicy lentil sauce with a key complimentary vegetable (okra and moringa are the best)…but restaurants usually turn this into a watery, tasteless mess that manages to look the right color without any of the taste…

i can say after a thorough exploration of the dosa scene in nyc that the only place to get really amazing dosa is from thiru jumar – the sri lankan dude who runs his dosa cart in washington square park right by nyu…my amma and appa fully endorse his dosas as well…now, that’s, a compliment…

there are supposedly a number of other restaurants in this neighborhood in paris near khrisna bhavan – so i plan to try many of them before i leave…a 5 euro dosa is an extremely filling (and delicious) meal with a price that’s hard to beat in what is, definitely, a very expensive city…

i took a long walk back to my apartment while my stomach was digesting the delicious dosa…i remembered that i asked ian the other night if he was married…he told me he was 38 and married with no kids to the only person that could deal with him…then said, “listen, if you can put up with 90 percent of her bullshit and she can put up with 90% of yours. that’s love. that’s it.” … sounds about right…

ooxx aa

Leave a Reply

